CBMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CBMom Posted 15 Jun 2007 , 9:43pm
post #1 of 12

Cake newbie here!!icon_biggrin.gif

What kind of styrofoam do you use?
Does a floral oasis/foam work?
Can I round off the edges somehow?
Do I dowel them together?

Like to do a 2 tier round anniversary cake (sheet cakes for cutting)
(Working on the test, ie, "eating" cakes this weekend..yum)

I live 6 hours away, and thought this would be the best way to prepare before hand, and easier transport.

TIA!

11 replies
jastaus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jastaus Posted 15 Jun 2007 , 9:52pm
post #2 of 12

you can order cake dummies from online shops or bakery crafts. I tried to find the shapes I needed before at stores like Michaels but for me it was a no go. If you can find it then i'm sure it will work. Brush it with corn syrup before applying fondant so it sticks better. And you can dowel them together as well.
hope this helps

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 15 Jun 2007 , 9:55pm
post #3 of 12

kind: the white stuff that's stiff
two sources of premade:
> http://www.dallas-foam.com/store/
&
> http://www.taylorfoam.com/taylorfoam_com/door/

----

rounding: just use pressure of metal object or sandpaper

----

dowel -- yes you can or can glue them together too -- use the special glue made for this -- hot melt glue will do just that -- melt them!

micfish Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
micfish Posted 15 Jun 2007 , 9:56pm
post #4 of 12