Pricelist For Beginners....help!!!

Business By suprena Updated 14 Jun 2007 , 3:32pm by missmeg

suprena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suprena Posted 13 Jun 2007 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 9

I am new to the cake decorating world and I am not confident with the pricing. I have read through Alice's matrix and I understand some of it but I feel it is too complicated for my level at this time. I think it is an awesome tool and would love to use it in the future. However, does anyone have anything simple and quick for me to use? I have 2 decorated round cakes for Father's Day to do and 2 pound cakes by this weekend. Please help!!! Thanks!

8 replies
darcat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darcat Posted 13 Jun 2007 , 4:17pm
post #2 of 9

I dont sell cakes but I would think it depends on the cost of living in your area. Also how much your ingredients cost, the level of difficulty in the design, how many it feeds, how long it takes you to make. In any case here is a bump and hopefully someone with experience can help you

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 13 Jun 2007 , 4:49pm
post #3 of 9

Call other bakeries (not Wal Mart or a grocery store) and see what they charge for a comparable cake.

My basic prices are $2/serving for a 1 or 2 tiered cake, and $3/serving for a 3-4 tiered cake. Level of difficulty of the cake may add to the price. As a beginner though, you probably won't lose money if you start at $2/serving.

A lot of beginners also figure price by calculating the cost of ingredients, then charging that much times 3. For me, this does not work out to pay me enough, but it can be a good place to start. icon_smile.gif Good luck! thumbs_up.gif

suprena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
suprena Posted 13 Jun 2007 , 5:16pm
post #4 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by kelleym

Call other bakeries (not Wal Mart or a grocery store) and see what they charge for a comparable cake.