How Does Mike Get His Modeling Chocolate So Perfect?

Decorating By mamacc Updated 17 Jun 2007 , 5:18am by Schmoop

mamacc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamacc Posted 12 Jun 2007 , 1:21pm
post #1 of 26

I am just in awe of how perfect Mike McCarey gets his modeling chocolate!! Does anyone have any tips on how? I have a hard time getting it really smooth and it also gets a little melty/sticky b/c of my warm hands.

Courtney

25 replies
ozcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ozcake Posted 13 Jun 2007 , 11:55pm
post #2 of 26

I'm not sure what Mike's work looks like and I am no expert but when I tried playing with Chocolate Plastique which I believe is the same thing as chocolate clay, when I first made it - it looked awful (like a dried up cow pattie) if you knead it a bit at a time (and then add the kneaded bits together) it becomes a lot smoother.

If you are trying to cover a cake with it once it is on the cake smooth it over with your hands it gives it a smoother and shinier finish. I did have a little trouble with my decorations in that they were fine until I tried to pick them up and handle them as they easily smooshed, I found I had to be really careful and limit the amount I handled them as much as possible (please note I did this in the middle of summer here where it is super humid). You can see the mini chocolate cakes in my pics to see how they came out - far from perfect but not too bad for my first go.

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=90788

http://www.cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=90787

2508s42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2508s42 Posted 14 Jun 2007 , 4:16am
post #3 of 26