Freezing Cakes...

Decorating By Amy729 Updated 12 Jun 2007 , 7:44am by JanH

Amy729 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Amy729 Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 1:14pm
post #1 of 10

I am new to cake decorating and have never frozen cakes. I always bake early in the morn. or the day before. I can see how the more cakes that you have to bake the less time to do that, so please someone give me the best way start to finish to do this. I really appriciate all this wonderful advice from you all experienced cake decorators!!

9 replies
mjs4492 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mjs4492 Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 1:26pm
post #2 of 10

Welcome Amy!

I'm also fairly new to cake decorating. A few months ago I wondered the same thing as you.
I bake my cakes and if time allows, put them in the freezer overnight, and take them out the next day and decorate them. Be sure to completely seal the bag before putting into the freezer. I wrap the cake really good with Saran Wrap then if they'll fit, put them in a Ziploc baggie. I don't torte or anything before freezing.
I'll take them out and make icing while the cake comes to room temp. Others say you can decorate them right away and I have also done that a couple of times with no problems and the cakes tasted great.

jobartwo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jobartwo Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 1:29pm
post #3 of 10

There are several posts on this site that say to wrap your cakes in saran wrap as soon as they come out of the oven and straight to the freezer. I have tried this and it does work. As long as they are wrapped in saran and then in a freezer bag (you can get huge ones now) you are fine baking weeks in advance and still be assured a fresh cake.

brilandken Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brilandken Posted 1 Jun 2007 , 1:30pm
post #4 of 10