Here's That Darn Helmet Cake

Decorating By mohara Updated 1 Jun 2005 , 1:38pm by She

mohara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mohara Posted 27 May 2005 , 8:34pm
post #1 of 22

Thank you to everyone for helping me with this. All and all, I am happy with it. It is the first time I've "decorated" a cake with stars before - I am a true beginner.

Thank you Lisa for your Buttercream recipe. It is delicious!!! I only ended up adding a total of 3 Tbl of water...but I don't even think I should have added the 3rd one. The icing was softer than it should have been for the stars, so they aren't as defined as they should be. I didn't want to add more sugar to the recipe at that point because I loved the flavor exactly as it was. DELICIOUS!!!!! Sweet, yet not overpowering. I can't wait to make it again.

Anyways, I am my own worst critic. I know it isn't anywhere near perfect or like most of the cakes I see on this site, but for a first time, I'm happy with it. thumbs_up.gif

Thanks again for everyone's help.

The emblem is a frozen buttercream transfer and the gold fleur de lis' are chocolate dusted with gold highlighter dust.
LL

21 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 27 May 2005 , 8:43pm
post #2 of 22

So glad the recipe worked for you! Did you make a half batch?

The cake came out great...especially the BCT! Doesn't look like beginner work at all. Great job thumbs_up.gif

MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 27 May 2005 , 8:43pm
post #3 of 22

Based on that pictuer....you are WAY beyond a beginner! It looks terrific! Thanks for sharing!

mohara Posted 27 May 2005 , 8:48pm
post #4 of 22

You both are too kind!

I made the whole batch because I had no clue how much would be enough. Now I know for next time. The party is on Sunday. Is it ok to sit out the way it is in my house or should I keep it in my cool basement?