Please Help Me, I'm A Newbie!

Decorating By cjsmommy1008 Updated 28 May 2005 , 5:31pm by MrsMissey

cjsmommy1008 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cjsmommy1008 Posted 27 May 2005 , 3:58pm
post #1 of 12

Hi! I've been reading so much on these boards and have finally decided to try making a cake.

I baked 4 9 inch round layers yesterday, and have just iced and filled them today. I used the Wilton whipped Icing mix that you just add ice water to. BTW, it is delicious!!! Anyway, I am now going to attempt to make buttercream or homemade whipped topping since I used all the Wilton stuff already and I still need to decorate it.

So, my question is: Should I put my cake in the refrigerator for now? (This will basically be an all day event for me since I am doing this around my 7 month olds schedule.) The filling is cherry pie filling.

I want this cake to come out nice, it's for my mom and dad's anniversary and I want it to be special for them. It doesn't have to be perfect, but I want it to come out nice. So, what should I do? We plan to eat it tonight around 6:30pm.

Thanks so much!!!

One more question....are you supposed to ice the tops of each layer before you put the filling in, or just make a dam? Thanks again!

11 replies
Calejo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Calejo Posted 27 May 2005 , 4:07pm
post #2 of 12

Just make a dam around the outside edge to keep the filling from oozing out. No need to ice between the layers when using a filling. The dam will hold in the filling and hold the two layers together pretty well too. Just remember that a little filling goes a long way, so don't put too much in or it'll squish over your dam anyway (take it from me icon_lol.gif ).

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 27 May 2005 , 4:29pm
post #3 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjsmommy1008

Hi! I've been reading so much on these boards and have finally decided to try making a cake.

Welcome to Cake Central!

Quote: