For Those With Kitchen Aide Mixers What Type Do You Have?

Baking By manyacakes Updated 8 Jul 2006 , 2:40am by manyacakes

manyacakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
manyacakes Posted 27 Jun 2006 , 6:13pm
post #1 of 31

i currently have th 4.5 qt one and i would like to get a heavier duty one. with this one i can only use 5-6 cups of flour. i can't double most of my cookie recipes with this one.

thanks,
manya

30 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 27 Jun 2006 , 6:16pm
post #2 of 31

I have the 5qt one. I LOVE it. Sometimes I want the 6qt one since my imbc frosting recipe sometimes overflows and makes a mess....but mostly my 5qt is great, and I doubt I'd ever trade it in.

fragglerock1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fragglerock1 Posted 27 Jun 2006 , 6:24pm
post #3 of 31

I am new to cookie making and I'm going to try my hand at some watermelon cookies in a few weeks. Do I abosolutely need a KitchenAid mixer? I wll buy one eventually, but I don't want to waste my money on one if I decide that I don't like cookie making as much as I think I will. I just have a hand mixer and a food processor right now. Will any of those work?

Chef_Stef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chef_Stef Posted 27 Jun 2006 , 6:31pm
post #4 of 31

I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. It mixes giant meringue BC recipes that fill it to the top without overflowing, and it is strong enough to do quadruple recipes of Wilton icing with no problem, any dough I want to do, etc.

I use it all the time, sometimes several times a day.

The only down side to it is that it's not very useful for doing small things, like whipping 3 eggs. The bowl is just too big. So I keep thinking, I need a small mixer too...haha, just a little cute one, maybe some fun color...

If I had to choose, though, I'd keep the six and hand mix the eggs.

Kazoot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kazoot Posted 27 Jun 2006 , 6:33pm
post #5 of 31