Tootsie Roll Roses

Decorating By Zamode Updated 30 Jun 2006 , 4:36am by joanmary

Zamode Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zamode Posted 22 Jun 2006 , 5:03am
post #1 of 55

I need some honest opinions about these please! I am helping my SIL with roses for a wedding cake (her mother is doing the cake....not sure why she can't do roses but whatever). I have no experience with fondant or gumpaste flowers and don't have time to learn now plus I don't have the tools. So, it has to be Royal, buttercream or Tootsie Rolls. I have limited time to do them, so...

Should the petals be thinner and should I add a third row (7 petals)? Some came out better than others and frankly, it stinks to have issues with Tootsie Roll roses when they are easy to make icon_redface.gif I used Hershey kisses for the base, should I use a Tootsie for the center to make it lighter? How will these get attached to the cake if she wants them cascading? Any other advice, opinions, thoughts, suggestions, whatever welcome! icon_eek.gif
LL

54 replies
tastycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tastycakes Posted 22 Jun 2006 , 5:08am
post #2 of 55

Oh my gosh! Those are adorable! I wouldn't add a third row unless you needed really big roses.

Yummy, tootsie rolls are my favorite!

Hey, some of us are "rose challenged"! I didn't get the hang of them until a year ago, and I've been doing cakes for years! Maybe she needs a lesson!

fmandds Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fmandds Posted 22 Jun 2006 , 5:09am
post #3 of 55

I've never made them before but I do think yours look great. The two in the corners of the back row don't look quite as great as the all the others but they are still great! Maybe those were your first two or something, I'm not sure. They don't look like the need the extra row of petals. They look very full now. Good luck with making more and sorry I don't know how you'd attach them. Maybe a skewer but I don't know if the skewer would start slicing it in half.