Cooling Cakes

Decorating By heathcombs Updated 19 May 2005 , 12:16pm by irisinbloom

heathcombs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heathcombs Posted 19 May 2005 , 3:38am
post #1 of 11

First of all I want to say how helpful all the info is on the forums. Thanks everybody!! My question is how do you keep your cakes from sticking to the cooling rack after taking them out of the pans. I let them cool in the pan for 10 minutes and then flip them out. I've tried several ways and they always stick and end up being a mess. Please help!!! Thanks.

10 replies
mimi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mimi Posted 19 May 2005 , 3:48am
post #2 of 11

Personally, I've been decorating cakes for over 25 years, and I don't put them on a cooling rack. When taking them out of the oven, I turn them over onto the board that I'm going to decorate them on. That way, I don't have to move them, and they don't slide all over the board.

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 19 May 2005 , 3:53am
post #3 of 11

Might be the kind of cooling rack you're using. I use only non-stick ones.

momof3jotynjake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momof3jotynjake Posted 19 May 2005 , 4:02am
post #4 of 11

mine stick to my cooling rack too, so when i flip mine out.. i flip it out on a papertowel.. and that works for me!!!

momof3jotynjake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momof3jotynjake Posted 19 May 2005 , 4:03am
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mimi

Personally, I've been decorating cakes for over 25 years, and I don't put them on a cooling rack. When taking them out of the oven, I turn them over onto the board that I'm going to decorate them on. That way, I don't have to move them, and they don't slide all over the board.

so, do you use your bottom of the cake as your top?

mimi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mimi Posted 19 May 2005 , 4:15am
post #6 of 11