Am I Overbeating My Buttercream?

Decorating By mmgiles Updated 27 Jul 2017 , 5:30pm by theresaf

mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 8 May 2007 , 3:57pm
post #1 of 17

I've been decorating cakes for a few months now, and I just started Wilton Course 1. My instructor doesnt seem too knowledgeble but she said the reason her icing didnt come out smooth last night was because she over beat it and it had air bubbles. I though it looked just like my icing always does. That's the reason I'm taking the course, because I cant seem to smooth my icing.

16 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 May 2007 , 4:13pm
post #2 of 17

I find the longer I beat it, the fewer air bubbles.

here's my logic .... and it could be totally off base ... just my unscientific opinion.

The more you beat it, the more you break down the pieces of fat.... be it crisco or butter. If the pieces of fat are not broken down into teeny tiny pieces, then when you spread the icing, your knife will move those pieces of fat thru the icing and they will act like little rocks .... the knife moves the fat and it leaves a "trail" .... like a comet. When you beat it longer, those pieces of fat are beaten down to nothing so when you move the knife thru the icing, there are no "hunks" of fat to move across the cake and mess up your smooth icing.

I run my KA for about 5 minutes.

McMama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
McMama Posted 8 May 2007 , 4:21pm
post #3 of 17

I agree with indydebi, but you shouldn't beat your icing on a high speed. I think if you beat your icing on high speed it actually whips up air bubbles. So use a medium speed.
Is this what you do indydebi?

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 8 May 2007 , 4:43pm
post #4 of 17

yes,it is. excellent point. on my mixer scale of 1-10, i put it on 6.

mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 8 May 2007 , 4:49pm
post #5 of 17