Buttercream Flower Help

Decorating By SusieQ1083 Updated 8 May 2007 , 12:52am by JaneK

SusieQ1083 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SusieQ1083 Posted 7 May 2007 , 7:51pm
post #1 of 9

I am making a mother's day cake this weekend and would like to get some of the buttercream flowers out of the way. Since I am new to cake decorating, I have several qustions....

~ How early can I make the flowers?
~ Will they be OK if I air dry them?
~ What about freezing them?
~ Are there any containers that I should store the flowers in?

Any hints, tips, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you SO much!

8 replies
SILVERCAT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SILVERCAT Posted 7 May 2007 , 8:04pm
post #2 of 9

What kind of BC flowers are you thinking about doing? I have done a few cakes with drop flowers on them. I line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and do them on there and freeze them for about 10 min and put them in a container back in the freezer. They do break so make sure you make more than what you need. I really havent tried more than the flowers they teach you in wiltons class. Good Luck.

Chickwood Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chickwood Posted 7 May 2007 , 8:22pm
post #3 of 9

I am by no means an expert, actually I am just now considering doing my first not for family cake, but I did take 3 of the 4 Wilton classes. I can tell you that for class we made all butter cream flowers the same day as we decorated the cakes. The only flowers we made in advance were out of royal icing.
That being said I do have an opinion; however, please remember this is just my opinion. If make the flowers on small parchment squares you should be able to make the flowers the day before and store them in a container like a deviled egg carrier in the refrigerator. This might make them less likely to break. But again is just an opinion icon_smile.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 7 May 2007 , 10:14pm
post #4 of 9