New To Cake Decorating

Decorating By Totally-Frosted Updated 10 May 2007 , 12:04am by Totally-Frosted

Totally-Frosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Totally-Frosted Posted 3 May 2007 , 2:38am
post #1 of 18

Hi All,

I am VERY new to the cake decorating scene and I came across this website doing a search.

Anyway, my question is how many of you have been to cake decorating classes and if you have been to class for cake decorating, what type of classes or schools did you go to?

Thanks for all your responses!

Veronica

17 replies
mizshelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mizshelli Posted 3 May 2007 , 2:52am
post #2 of 18

Welcome Veronica! Enjoy CC!
I had no classes unless you count one 10 years ago that I forgot. I am just winging this thing......be careful, you will eat, sleep, and talk cake... icon_eek.gif

sami7333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sami7333 Posted 3 May 2007 , 3:07am
post #3 of 18

I took a very basic class when I was younger and decorated cakes off and on for a few years. Practice is the best teacher I've found! icon_wink.gif There's nothing like learning from your own mistakes. icon_cry.gificon_redface.gif I just took 3 Wilton courses this winter to get a little better at it since I'm trying to get a bakery/cafe started. If I would've had more self-confidence I don't think I would'veneeded them. But they were fun! thumbs_up.gif

heavenlyfire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heavenlyfire Posted 3 May 2007 , 3:46am
post #4 of 18

I strongly recommend classes if you are really new - the Wilton classes were great for me, because they were casual and my Michael's keeps them very small so there was a lot of personal attention. Oh, and Mizshelly is so right...you will soon be talking, walking, thinking and dreaming of cakes!

Hippiemama Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hippiemama Posted 3 May 2007 , 1:09pm
post #5 of 18