Chocolate Transfer Vs. Fondant???

Decorating By nikkisbc Updated 3 May 2007 , 4:26pm by MikkelPaige

nikkisbc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikkisbc Posted 2 May 2007 , 12:41pm
post #1 of 10

hi all, i'm a newbie to the site, and to cake decorating. i'm sooo glad i found this place, i could really use some advice, suggestions, explanations, whatever ya got.

so here's the deal. hubby's been clamoring for me to make him a birthday cake this year with darth vader. since there is only three of us here it will just be a regular 8 inch 2 layer round cake. i've been reading all the posts i could find here about how to go about doing this and have found a few options. i'm planning to take an image either from the internet or a coloring book and transfer it onto wax paper but i'm unsure about whether to use fondant (that is either already black or that i color myself) or do a chocolate transfer which i've read about here. the other option is to have colored fondant over the cake for the background and do the chocolate transfer for darth vader. i kindof like this last idea best, i have a picture in my head of what it could look like this way and i really like it but since i have no experience with either of these techniques i was wondering if anyone could give any suggestions, tips, whatever you may have from your years of experience.

this cake is for my husband but it's also kindof a test project for me. i really enjoy doing these cakes and i'm toying with the idea of possibly starting a little at-home business doing this kind of thing down the road. so the more experience i get, the better. but i do want to kindof stay within the realm of possibility for someone who's only done about 8 cakes so far.

thanks all!
nikki icon_smile.gif

9 replies
Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 2 May 2007 , 8:11pm
post #2 of 10

It sounds like you've already got a plan in mind. Go with what you are comfortable doing.