Je,je,je Mi First Jello O Gelatin Cake (Geletina Decorada)

Decorating By Claudine1976 Updated 7 Sep 2006 , 4:23pm by adven68

Claudine1976 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Claudine1976 Posted 19 May 2006 , 2:58pm
post #1 of 19

This is a Gelatin cake, is a very popular latinamerican desert for birthday parties to go along with the cake, this is my first try, it a lot of fun.

Esta es mi gelatina decorada, es un postre latinoamericano muy popular para las fiestas de cumpleaños para acompañar la torta, es la primera vez que lo pruebo, fue muy divertido.

Claudia
LL

18 replies
7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 19 May 2006 , 5:01pm
post #2 of 19

Please, what is a gelatin cake?I'm very curious, as I've never heard of them. Is it like a 'poke cake', where you bake a cake and pour jello down through holes you 'poke' in it? If so, is the decorated top made of a frozen buttercream transfer in a layer of Jello? I REALLY like the looks of this cake! Can you tell? LOL!

fearlessbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fearlessbaker Posted 19 May 2006 , 5:09pm
post #3 of 19

Now, I would also like to know what a gelatin cake is and how to do this. I Love the look. Is this something one can learn from the gelatin books by the woman in Mexico? Sorry, I forgot her name.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 19 May 2006 , 6:08pm
post #4 of 19

That is SO darling - I just love Hello Kitty.

Great job, looks like it must have been a very time consuming project!!!

Claudine1976 Posted 19 May 2006 , 6:31pm
post #5 of 19

Hi! Im glad you all like the gelatin cake, Its really easy to do, Im not an expert, this is my first try at this, but I really enjoyed making it. This one is called 3d decorates gelatin, here are the steps I took: and later on today I will post the recipes.

1.  Make a slab of gelatin, about 1 centimeter deep and put it in the fridge for 24 hr, uncovered