Barely Legal In New Orleans

Business By aadduci Updated 15 May 2006 , 9:51pm by aadduci

aadduci Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aadduci Posted 15 May 2006 , 12:29pm
post #1 of 5

Hi, This is my first time posting but I have already gotten so much information from all of you so thank you.
I have been having the hardest time finding any information about legalities of running a home business in New Orleans
Does anyone know if it's possible and what i have to do to certify my kitchen and run a business legally.
I've read about having a seperate kitchen. Does that mean that it has to be in a different location intirely from your home or can it be on the second floor of your home if no one is using it and it has it's own entrances.
One more question, if I do get my kitchen certified can I legally rent it out to people by the hour as a certified kitchen.
Thank you all so much

4 replies
Cakey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakey Posted 15 May 2006 , 12:43pm
post #2 of 5

Hi and welcome to CC! I'm not sure about your state, but in my state, Florida, the Department of Agriculture is the one who regulates selling food and renting kitchens, etc. They are a good place to start or the Secretary of State's office. They should be able to answer all of your questions. You can also check the websites for those offices and see if there's anything on the Internet answering your questions. Hope this helps and good luck with your business!

JennT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennT Posted 15 May 2006 , 2:45pm
post #3 of 5