Should I Keep Doing This? * A Little Long, Sorry*

Decorating By MandMCakeDesigns Updated 27 Apr 2007 , 7:33pm by SweetResults

MandMCakeDesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MandMCakeDesigns Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 5:53pm
post #1 of 7

Okay, I have read all of the post about "pricing too high" and how much we should charge and it fits right in with a dilemma I am having. So I thought I would throw it out there....I have been doing this for a few months and I love it! It is a great outlet for creativity and I really have a good time doing it. But I am primarily making cakes for friends right now. I love the joy on their faces when I deliver the cakes. It is just a blast!

But...I am a stay at home mom to two little guys and it takes a great deal of time away from them. And to top it all off, I don't make money doing it because I am not charging my friends much...basically because I am not sure how much is fair since I am new at it. I made 50 bucks each for every shower cake posted in my photos and most of them cost at least 40 dollars to make.

Should I just give up for now to spend time with the kids? Or should I charge more? If so, what's a good starting rate for BC and Fondant? I am in Texas, by the way. Thanks!

6 replies
JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 5:55pm
post #2 of 7

You risk getting "caught" since it isn't legal in Texas to sell home baked goods. You have to decide how much risk you have.

MandMCakeDesigns Posted 27 Apr 2007 , 6:09pm
post #3 of 7