Doll Cake/icing Questions

Decorating By my3preciousbabies Updated 8 May 2006 , 1:33pm by cakesbgood

my3preciousbabies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
my3preciousbabies Posted 7 May 2006 , 4:49pm
post #1 of 8

Hello, I am VERY new at making cakes infact this doll cake will be my third cake, my first was a princess cake for my dd and it bombed the second was a train cake for my son and it wasnt too bad. Well my dd b-day is comming up and I want to make a doll cake for her. I have recently became a PC consultant, so I will be using their bowl to make the cake! I have done LOTS of searching here and got some great ideas, I still have a couple questions:

1. What is pipping gel and can you get that at any grocery store?

2. I love the look of Fondant but not brave enough to try it yet, I really like buttercream icing but have found it to be too sweet, my youngest children have milk issues, I would love to learn how to make a whip cream icing, but so far the ones I have tried were WAY too soft.
Anyways so I have been practing on making buttercream icing's anyways but used some almond extract in it and loved it but my icing isn't turning out well, I want to make it a head of time, and found it seperates after like two days. AND it's still not as thick as I would like.

SO how can I make either a thick whipped (would really like to know how to do this) OR a thick buttercream icing, something that will really hold.

3. Is there any icing tips you can give me? Tools that work best? I plan to play with the icing for a while before I attempt the cake, just want to cover all the bases so maybe this time this cake will look really good!

Thanks inadvance
Misty

7 replies
lkuptain Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lkuptain Posted 7 May 2006 , 5:24pm
post #2 of 8