Sour Cream, What Is The Use In Cake Baking?

Decorating By lindazully Updated 7 Jun 2013 , 1:15pm by PhWriter11

lindazully Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lindazully Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 8:09pm
post #1 of 24

Hello Everyone.

I'm new to cake decorating and I've seen many cake recipes that use Sour Cream. What is it for? I'm not a sour cream lover but will love to know that it brings to the cake, moistness, flavor?

Thanks

Linda

23 replies
Momkiksbutt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momkiksbutt Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 8:13pm
post #2 of 24

Sour Cream us used as part of an extender and also for added moistness to your cakes. You can't taste is as actual sour cream, so don't be afraid to use it in your cakes. You'll be glad you did!

And welcome to CC!!

icon_biggrin.gif

Beckalita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Beckalita Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 8:13pm
post #3 of 24

It adds richness and makes the cake more dense (like a pound cake).

lindazully Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 8:28pm
post #4 of 24

Thanks!, I'll definitely try it. thumbs_up.gif

Ironbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ironbaker Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 8:33pm
post #5 of 24

I know it's used in the WASC recipe but for scratch baking, is there an ingredient it can replace or can you just add some in??

Thanks!

darlene_000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darlene_000 Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 10:20pm
post #6 of 24

I always add about 1/4C in addition to the other ingrediants (Also an extra wgg & box of pudding) to my cake mixes... makes them nice and moist icon_smile.gif

snarkybaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snarkybaker Posted 24 Apr 2007 , 11:10pm
post #7 of 24

Sour cream has absolutely nothing to do with the moistness of cakes. It's two primary virtues are 1- fat and 2- acidity.