Help With Blown Sugar Fishbowl For Seuss Cake

Sugar Work By brenners Updated 16 Jun 2006 , 7:46pm by yukisaru

brenners Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brenners Posted 1 May 2006 , 4:51pm
post #1 of 9

Hello...Im very new to making cakes and all...I've done 2 so far lol...But I am going to make a whimisical cake for my daughter's 2nd birthday and we are doing a seuss theme...so I wanted to do a fishbowl with the goldfish in it from cat in the hat...we made sugar and I used a metal bowl to string it over, but it crystalized (I think we used too much sugar), but is there anywhere I could buy the fishbowl already made. or does anyone have any tips as to what I could use to make the shape and get it off easy?

Thanks
Brenda
Im in Tampa florida by the way.

8 replies
SugarCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarCreations Posted 1 May 2006 , 9:46pm
post #2 of 9

Fish Bowl huh. Interesting item to make out of sugar. First of all how did you prepare your sugar mixture? There are several reasons it may have crystallized on you. As far as the bowl goes I do not know of any place that sells blown fish bowls. If you can draw you could cast the sugar bowl. I do not know how much experience you have with blown sugar so its hard for me to give you advice. Do you have any experience with pulling sugar? Give a little more detail.

Regards Sugarcreations...

PS: Did you grease your bowl before you spun the sugar on it? I also noticed your in Tampa Florida. You might try Ewald Notters School of Sugar Confections you could call them and see if they would make one for you. Just an idea... I will pull up the website and post it here for you.

brenners Posted 1 May 2006 , 10:01pm
post #3 of 9