Chef's Hat Birthday Cake Help

Decorating By eculmone Updated 18 Apr 2007 , 1:53am by Ursula40

eculmone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eculmone Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 12:45pm
post #1 of 8

Good morning icon_smile.gif
I'm a newbie here. I'm no professional by far and I hope someone can help me out. I dabble in the craft and have only created cakes for my children's parties - oldest is now 22. ANYHOW, younges dd8 wants a cooking party. I'm a scrapper as well so invitations and decor looks amazing. This is going to be so much fun BUT, I have this old up up and away air balloonn cake pan from 1979 or so. It's versatile. I've made a lightbulb, ice cream cone, hot air balloon and now I think I'd like to make a chef's hat. It just seems way to simple. I'm looking for some cool ideas of how to decorate it. I could go traditional and just frost the ball area with a knife to create a puffy look, but was hoping someone might have some suggestions for this amateur? I've never used fondant, but thought I could go fondant on the bottom as the band area and then frost the rest? I know it won't be professional, but it's a mom cake made for a crew of 8 year old girls who'll be decorating cupcakes and rolling out pizza dough... If anyone has pics are any help or suggestions I'd be thrilled. Can anyone help? Thanks Liz icon_smile.gif

7 replies
NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 8

BUMP!

And welcome to CC eculmone!!

mendhigurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mendhigurl Posted 17 Apr 2007 , 6:02pm
post #3 of 8