Question About The Use Of Glycerine

Decorating By craftst3 Updated 8 May 2016 , 11:49am by imaan

craftst3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
craftst3 Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 4:56pm
post #1 of 14

I hope someone can help me. I am new to cake decorating and sent husband to store to buy me some supplies. He came back with the things I needed and a container of glycerine. He said it was with the cake stuff so he thought I might need it. Would you please let me know what I would use it for? The only thing I have learned about it is that you can add it to icing to restore consistency of colors, but not sure how to do that either.

13 replies
gmcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gmcakes Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 14

Glycerine is an ingredient in some fondant recipes. It can also be used to restore Wilton paste colors back to there original consistency is they start to dry out or thicken.

HTH

Pyxxydust Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pyxxydust Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 6:54pm
post #3 of 14

Does anyone know how much glycerin we should add to marshmallow fondant? I've been making it for a couple weeks and so far I have no complaints, but I read somewhere that someone adds glycerin for elasticity. However, I'm not sure if this really helps, what exactly it does, or how much to add. Thanks for any info that anyone has!

Melissa

bajansunflower Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bajansunflower Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 7:05pm
post #4 of 14

can you help me with a name for my cake and pastry business.

Bajansunflower

Pyxxydust Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pyxxydust Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 7:12pm
post #5 of 14