Working With Red Food Coloring

Decorating By BellaDonna Updated 28 Mar 2006 , 8:17pm by Beckalita

BellaDonna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BellaDonna Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 4:16pm
post #1 of 13

Hi folks. I'm a newbie to this site. I found my way here out of desperation. I have piddled here and there with cake baking and decorating but I have really gone and done it this time. I have volunteered to make my daughter's wedding cake which is in 3 weeks. Her colors are red and pink. I want to make red and pink roses for the cake. My question is what can you do when adding food color to your frosting to make it a really, really deep rich red color? When I add food coloring the red only gets so dark, more like a really red pink. I would really like to make the flowers almost blood red.

Thanks for your help!

Donna

12 replies
texascupcake09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texascupcake09 Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 4:27pm
post #2 of 13

I have used chocolate buttercream tinted red, usually gets pretty dark. The Wilton red paste (no taste) works really great.

Good Luck,

NEWTODECORATING Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NEWTODECORATING Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 4:28pm
post #3 of 13

Donna my advice is to get the Americolor RED RED from this site in the store. It is really the best! You don't have to use as much of it and you don't get the bitter aftertaste that you get with some red coloring.

ttatummm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ttatummm Posted 28 Mar 2006 , 5:01pm
post #4 of 13

Hi Donna,

When I did the red fondant roses on the cake below. I used Wilton no taste red, lots of it. And the color was red but not the deep dark red I think of when I think of roses. So I got some Americolor red red, that didn't change the color any. But from what I've read on this I might not have had to use as much of it as I did the Wiltons. So to get the darker red, I added a touch of burgandy and got the exact color of red I was looking for.
LL