Wasc And Buttercream Question

Decorating By Tolinda Updated 4 Apr 2007 , 10:13pm by Tolinda

Tolinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tolinda Posted 3 Apr 2007 , 9:34pm
post #1 of 8

hi,
i've just made some white almond sour cream cupcakes the other day and i'm not sure if it's just me but they taste kind of cherry-ish to me. but i've never used almond extract before but it smells alot like cherries. if you've tried the betty crocker cherry cake, it taste ALOT like the wasc. i like the cake with the sour cream but not the flavour, so do you think i could substitute the almond with any other flavouring?

and i also have a question about the buttercream dream recipe. i made a batch of that and im not sure if its just me or not, but i really dislike the taste of all that butter. although it was half butter, half shortening, i tasted the butter way too much and was kind of sickening. is there any other buttercream recipe someone could recommend me that wouldn't be too buttery or sweet? TIA

7 replies
torki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
torki Posted 3 Apr 2007 , 9:42pm
post #2 of 8

yep you can add any flavours. I have made this with white chocolate and used whole eggs, I have also made it as a banana cake, again used whole eggs, then 2 large ripe bananas or 3 small ones, mashed, little bit of cinnamon and vanilla. yum!!

LaSombra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaSombra Posted 3 Apr 2007 , 10:54pm
post #3 of 8

almonds and cherries are in the same family actually and that's why they taste similar.

I'm sure you can put any flavoring in the cake...I adjust recipes like that all the time. Some flavors are stronger than others though so you might have to add more or less, depending on the flavor.

Tolinda Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 3:55am
post #4 of 8