Fondant Help

Decorating By mizshelli Updated 7 Apr 2007 , 3:19am by JanH

mizshelli Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mizshelli Posted 3 Apr 2007 , 8:31pm
post #1 of 12

Hi everyone!
I just made a batch of fondant (extremely difficult for me to do), and it tastes great but whenever I make something from it, it 'squishes' itself down a bit. I made a bunny to go on a cake and when I was finished the bunny looked like someone had stepped on it. icon_eek.gif It's almost like it's melting but it doesn't completely ruin the shape. You can tell it's a bunny, but it's a very short bunny. icon_lol.gif Any ideas on how to fix this? It was quite a cold day too so it shouldn't have gotten too warm.

11 replies
Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 3 Apr 2007 , 8:50pm
post #2 of 12

It sounds too soft, which may not give you any problems when you're just covering a cake, but for characters and flowers it can be more of a problem.

I'm not an expert, so I won't assume I know the best way to handle it, but maybe more powdered sugar to stiffen it up? Maybe I'm off base, but I know you'll get more posts from more seasoned fondant users! Good luck!

torki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
torki Posted 3 Apr 2007 , 9:47pm
post #3 of 12

mmm the squishy bunny..... it sounds like its top heavy!
Make the body first let dry then attach the head....also try adding some tylose into fondant and it will harden quicker or use 50/50 gumpaste and fondant.

HTH

mizshelli Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 12:23am
post #4 of 12

Well, the body squishes before I can even get the head onto it. I would take a picture but my niece ate it. icon_eek.gif Do you think powdered sugar would help or not? The original recipe was water, (1 part) sugar (3 parts) and 1/4 tsp cream of tartar cooked to soft ball stage.

Also, what is tylose and where does one get it?

Price Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Price Posted 4 Apr 2007 , 12:39am
post #5 of 12