Gumpaste Hummingbird? Motorcycle?

Decorating By LaSombra Updated 3 Apr 2007 , 3:17am by LaSombra

LaSombra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaSombra Posted 2 Apr 2007 , 5:50pm
post #1 of 8

This is my 1st question on the "how to" board icon_smile.gif

I just got an order from a customer who won a 9" cake in a raffle we did at Christmas time and she wants a motorcycle/hummingbird cake. It's a double birthday so that's why the combo icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I've never worked with gumpaste before and keep putting off trying it. I've done fondant enough but I do have the gumpaste mix that I haven't done anything with yet. I really want to wow these customers because it's basically advertising for me. Do you think I could pull it off to make a hummingbird? Should I just do it in white and then go back and paint it or should I start with a certain color or what? Geez, I feel like a n00b on this all of a sudden icon_razz.gif

As for the motorcycle, I have some cookie cutters shaped like motorcycles and was just thinking I could do an impression along the sides of the cake with that and then trace with frosting...or should I go gumpaste with that also!? icon_lol.gif

7 replies
LaSombra Posted 2 Apr 2007 , 6:02pm
post #2 of 8

I'm wondering now if this should be on a different board icon_redface.gif

I guess my question is really just do you have any tips on doing the gumpaste hummingbird and how should I color it?

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 2 Apr 2007 , 7:30pm
post #3 of 8

patience...mondays are busy and many of us work in during the day (shhhh this coming to you from my classroom AFTER school!)

gumpaste --- your choice. tho' if want to do several colors and blend for more realistic look...then white and paint after.

remember, gumpaste like working in polyclay (if you've ever done that) -- only will dry out much faster.

motorcycle--sounds like a cute idea...