Messy Flooding Bags

Baking By BooBooCat Updated 19 Mar 2006 , 11:01pm by golfgirl1227

BooBooCat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BooBooCat Posted 19 Mar 2006 , 1:06am
post #1 of 11

How do you all keep thin royal icing in your decorators bags? My bags get so messy. Either running out the top or bottom. Does anyone use squeezable bottles? Any tips would be greatly appreciated!
How do you all get those cute personal icons next to your names in the forum? I am new to CakeCentral and am loving it!

10 replies
sofiasmami Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sofiasmami Posted 19 Mar 2006 , 1:11am
post #2 of 11

I put the twistie ties that come in garbage bags to keep it from floding to the top .... the avatar was done by my sis .... so I can't help you there

KittisKakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KittisKakes Posted 19 Mar 2006 , 1:15am
post #3 of 11

Welcome to our addiction!!

For the avatar, go to "My Forum Info" link on the left side of the web page, then scroll all the way down. You can either add your own icon which I think can't be any larger than 110x110 pixels or the website has some that you can pick from.

As for the bags, if it's a paper cone, I fold the top over. If it's aastry bag, I twist it tight. For what comes out the bottom, I ususally have a paper towel handy to catch the drips when I'm not using it.

izzybee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
izzybee Posted 19 Mar 2006 , 1:19am
post #4 of 11

I found if you only fill it half way and twist the bag completely it shouldn't come out the top. As for the bottom, when you are filling it, place a wet paper towel in the bottom of glass, place your bag in it folding it open over the glass, then spoon in your icing. When it is thin there really is nothing to keep it from flowing otu the bottom.

slejdick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
slejdick Posted 19 Mar 2006 , 1:57am
post #5 of 11