Help With Sugar / Hard Candy Molds

Sugar Work By ellepal Updated 11 Jun 2006 , 11:01pm by skylightsky

ellepal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellepal Posted 18 Mar 2006 , 2:14pm
post #1 of 11

Hi Sugar Geniuses out there! I need HELP!!!!!

I just spent 50.00 on three silicon molds from First IMpressions. I want to make candy gems like on this guys website:

http://www.jeff-the-chef.com/stock.html

This is my first attempt with sugar. I used a recipe for sugar glass, because I wanted the gems to come out clear.

As soon as it hit 300 degrees, I poured it into the molds.

Then I had fun with the sugar and got experimental. I made spun sugar nests and candy glass, etc. Those things worked out.

However, when the candy hardened , and they popped out of the molds, they were not as shiny as they should be. There were tons of tiny little air bubbles preventing the shine and the cut-look of the gems.

Where did I go wrong, and how can I fix this? I have a wedding cake in July that I have to have these gems for, and I'm trying to practice. Is there a recipe for this? I did not use cream of tartar. Would that do the trick?

Also, is there a way to get the color of the candy to come out clear looking, and less yellow?

Could any Sugar Master out there give me a hand?

Thanks!!
Ellen

10 replies
auntiecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntiecake Posted 18 Mar 2006 , 2:22pm
post #2 of 11

It sounds like you stirred to much air into them when they were cooking. Does your recipe say to stir occasionlly and you should probably stir slowly so as not to get a lot of air in the mixture. You could also tap it on the counter immediately after you pour it into the molds. See if this helps! What recipe are you using?

ellepal Posted 18 Mar 2006 , 4:07pm
post #3 of 11