What Makes A Cake Crumble?

Decorating By czyadgrl Updated 30 Mar 2007 , 11:44pm by roanoker

czyadgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
czyadgrl Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 5:33pm
post #1 of 10

I've been making the WBH Chocolate Butter Cake recipe for a few months now, and twice, most recent cake included, it has just sort of burst into crumbles upon contact with a knife. Tiny little fine crumbs just mound into a pile on the cake board.

Why does this happen and how can I keep it from happening?

(Several times the cake has come out and cut beautifuly, so I don't think it's the recipe itself.)

9 replies
czyadgrl Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 6:45pm
post #2 of 10

I just thought of something. Each time the cake has been crumbly, it has been one covered with ganache.

What?

Any ideas?

czyadgrl Posted 29 Mar 2007 , 9:35pm
post #3 of 10

someone? anyone?

czyadgrl Posted 30 Mar 2007 , 12:15am
post #4 of 10

I know someone knows the answer!

nglez09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nglez09 Posted 30 Mar 2007 , 12:23am
post #5 of 10

BUMP.

Housemouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Housemouse Posted 30 Mar 2007 , 11:04am
post #6 of 10

I'm afraid I haven't got a clue. Not made that recipe before so cannot tell where problem might lie. is there anything that you have done differently with the 2 cakes which have had this problem? eg, used a different brand of some ingredient, using different sized eggs? that sort of thing. One of life's lovely mysteries..

edited to add: not using a different knife to cut it with are you - seems a silly question I know.

birdgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
birdgirl Posted 30 Mar 2007 , 2:02pm
post #7 of 10

It sounds like it may need a little more liquid? Are the crumbs dry or moist? Maybe use larger eggs? Most recipes call for eggs and I use large eggs--one time I used medium sized ones and the cake was dry and crumbly. Just a thought.....

czyadgrl Posted 30 Mar 2007 , 2:11pm
post #8 of 10

Could be a different brand thing. Maybe.