How Many Pro's Vs. Weekend Warriors?

Decorating By cordy Updated 15 Mar 2006 , 10:17pm by izzybee

cordy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cordy Posted 13 Mar 2006 , 3:50pm
post #1 of 44

I personally have had no classes and have learned through trial and error(lots of errors). I am contemplating taking Wilton classes, but am undecided, so I was curious about everyone else's story. I love making cakes for friends and family I have a lot of passion, and a little bit of talent.

43 replies
HollyPJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HollyPJ Posted 13 Mar 2006 , 3:57pm
post #2 of 44

I'm self-taught. I think I've checked out every cake book my local library owns. The internet, this site in particular, has been a great resource as well.
Trial and error has been a great teacher, too. icon_smile.gif

I currently have no plans to sell cakes, though people ask me fairly often when I'm going to go into business. I just prefer decorating as a hobby for now.

I've thought about taking Wilton classes, but at this point, I think I know most of the stuff they'd teach. There are some gaps in my education--my piping skills need work (well, all my skills need work, but there are a lot of piping techniques I've never tried). I think I'd like to take some specialized, advanced courses someday. I've heard Colette Peters' classes are great.

ChrisJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChrisJ Posted 13 Mar 2006 , 3:58pm
post #3 of 44

I always wanted to learn how to decorate cakes but I had to wait until my 4 kids grew up with work and all. I took Wilton classes but I am still very much a beginner and a "weekend warrior". thumbs_up.gif to all those who decorate with small children!

cordy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cordy Posted 13 Mar 2006 , 4:13pm
post #4 of 44