Anyone An Expert At Sugar Flowers?

Decorating By Feefs Updated 25 Mar 2007 , 2:50pm by dyna

Feefs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Feefs Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 6:46am
post #1 of 11

Hi guys...

Here's my first attempt at oriental lillies - not for anything specific, just playing around... just wondering if there is anyone out there that can shed any light on how to make these realistic - and how to avoid breaking the petals!! I would hate to have to make dozens of these for a wedding!

PS: sorry about the "stand" the display is sitting on... just happened to be the closest thing for it to stand on.
LL

10 replies
idoweddingcookies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
idoweddingcookies Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 7:10am
post #2 of 11

I'm no expert, but i think they look pretty darn real to me!

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 7:19am
post #3 of 11

I don't consider myself to be an expert, I just love making them. The only thing I would suggest would be a bit more ruffling on the petals, not a lot, but enough to give the flower some movement. And I would add a few accent dots and stripes with a burgundy petal dust thinned just a bit with some alcohol.

Here is a gorgeous example of an Oriental Lily.
http://www.q7.com/~erasmus/images/lilies_2005/oriental_lily_fellowship.jpg

As you can see the ends fold under and the burgundy color is in dots as well as delicate stripes going from the center up each petal.

Are you having problems with breakage as they dry, or when you are taping them together? I wire mine and dry each petal over a Wilton former, if you don't have one but you can cut an empty paper towel roll in half lengthwise.

Feefs Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 7:44am
post #4 of 11

Hey Shirley, thanks for that.