Sculptured Cakes

Decorating By glor08 Updated 21 Mar 2007 , 2:26pm by oilili

glor08 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
glor08 Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 9

What kind of cake do you use when making sculpted/ 3d cakes? will a box cake, like betty crocker be ok? what is the secret to carving them without having them fall apart? Thanks!!

8 replies
SharonZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SharonZ Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 9:43pm
post #2 of 9

You need to use a dense cake for sculpting cakes. Do a search for
Durable Cake for 3D and Wedding Cakes in the recipes.
I am no expert on this. But when I did mine, I put it in the freezer for a few hours before I sculpted it. Maybe some of the pros here will jump in.
Sharon

KittisKakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KittisKakes Posted 17 Mar 2007 , 9:54pm
post #3 of 9

I use Duncan Hines and I'm pretty sure somewhere on the box it tells you how to make it a "pound" cake, by adding pudding mix and another egg. Unfortunately I am not at home to make sure. It just makes it a bit more dense. Anyway, I also freeze my cakes before I carve them. I usually use a serrated knife also. Then once the cake is in the shape you want, crumb coat it while it is still frozen. Then I let it come to room temp before icing or adding any MMF. Toothpicks and dowels are always handy for support too!! HTH!!

dessertprincess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dessertprincess Posted 18 Mar 2007 , 8:31pm
post #4 of 9

i use a homemade pound cake recipe for my sculpted cakes. i find that works best because it produces less crumbs and is more dense. i also rely on a lot fo support! i use dowels and foam board for the bases between layers.

bpshirley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bpshirley Posted 18 Mar 2007 , 8:50pm
post #5 of 9