Cake Icer Tip

Decorating By curiegas Updated 13 Apr 2005 , 9:20pm by dackn8tr

curiegas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
curiegas Posted 9 Apr 2005 , 3:52am
post #1 of 11

Hi. I am fairly new to decorating and was wondering what bag to use with the cake icer tip. I have the disposable 12" bags. But I think I am going to either use parchment or the big 16" or 18" bag.

Thanks in advance,
Cecilia

10 replies
ilithiya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ilithiya Posted 9 Apr 2005 , 3:54am
post #2 of 11

One of the big featherweight-type bags is best. I have an 18" and I can pack it just full enough to do an entire 8" round, about 4" tall and still have enough left at the end for easy handling. Any smaller probably wouldn't be as good; you may have to refill it, and that admittedly can be a pain.

Illy

tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 9 Apr 2005 , 3:59am
post #3 of 11

Your right & so is Illy! Use the largest bag you can find! It is a big pain in the rear when you have a small bag!! I use about 4 icer tips & bags & fill them up before I even start to ice a cake. I'm talking about wedding cakes.

Illy, that's good if you use only one bag to ice a 8" cake with!! You've mastered it!!

AngelWendy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelWendy Posted 9 Apr 2005 , 7:01am
post #4 of 11

I used the plastic disposable bags which I think are 12", but it won't hold enough in that. I have to fill it up twice to finish it, but I don't really mind. It's so much easier than the other way of icing a cake!

m0use Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m0use Posted 12 Apr 2005 , 1:53pm
post #5 of 11

Little behind on reading my posts from this weekend... I would buy the biggest reusable bag you could and keep it exclusively for the icer tip. That's what I did to save time and a little money. I do use the dispoables though for all my smaller tips becasue it saves time on the cleanup.

GHOST_USER_NAME Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile