What To Use For Piping Decorations

Decorating By kitty_kat Updated 8 Feb 2006 , 10:38pm by kitty_kat

kitty_kat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kitty_kat Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 2:51am
post #1 of 11

I'm completely new to this.....what recipe/type of cream is used to make those lovely piping decorations. I've just bought myself a piping set but I have no idea what to use for the piping cause I know it needs to be fairly thick.

Can anyone help in this regard?

I'm wanting to do white piping

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!!

10 replies
crisseyann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crisseyann Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 3:35am
post #2 of 11

I just use a simple all Crisco/powdered sugar buttercream for my piping. There are recipes on this site to use. Good luck!

cakemommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemommy Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 3:42am
post #3 of 11

You can use a true buttercream or royal icing! All three icings will work fine! It just depends on your consistency!!!

Amy

kitty_kat Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 5:57am
post #4 of 11

thanks I'll give those a go and see how I end up....the practise cake didn't turn out so well so I think I might have to practise a bit more icon_redface.gif

sweetsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetsugar Posted 7 Feb 2006 , 3:46pm
post #5 of 11

It does take a lot of practice!

A good recipe to start with is the Wilton one. It tastes vile but it's easiest to learn with. Make it with all shortening at first, it's easier and more durable than butter.
Practice on your cutting board. You can reuse the frosting over and over, and the plastic cutting board makes it easy to just wipe right off.

http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/icing/bcream.cfm
Buttercream Icing

Ingredients:
1/2 cup solid vegetable shortening
1/2 cup butter or margarine*
1 teaspoon Clear Vanilla
4 cups sifted confectioners' sugar (approx. 1 lb.)
2 tablespoons milk**