Books For Beginner Decorators?

Decorating By beany Updated 29 Nov 2005 , 2:59am by beany

beany Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beany Posted 28 Nov 2005 , 7:05am
post #1 of 10

Hi lovelies,

I want to buy some books on cake decorating.......but I'm just a beginner.

Do you have any suggestions for books that might help me? I already have a few but I want to extend my library.

I'd prefer it if they:
* had plentiful photos
* easy to follow techniques
* step-by-step directionals

I've heard good things about Nicolas Lodge.

Please let me know what you think. icon_biggrin.gif

9 replies
Randa_000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Randa_000 Posted 28 Nov 2005 , 7:35am
post #2 of 10

bump....

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 28 Nov 2005 , 8:35am
post #3 of 10

I still think I"m a beginner too. I like Debbie Brown's Magical Cakes and Lindy Smith's Celebrate with a Cake. I love Kerry Vincent's Romantic Wedding Cakes and Collette Peters Cakes to Dream On, but those are more complicated. I have Sylvia Weinstock's Sweet Celebrations though I havne't used it much and I just got Toba Garrett's The Well Decorated Cake but haven't had much chance to look at it yet. I think these last two deal more with buttercream and I like wokring with fondant better.

I have the International School of Sugarcraft Volumes I, II, and III which have Nicholas Lodge as principal teacher. I like them, but they have so much information and are not indexed at all, so that I find them really hard to use.

For gumpaste flowers I have Scott Clark Woolley's Cakes by Design and both Alice Proctor's Flowers for Cakes and Simplifying Sugar Flowers. They all give meticulous directions, but I'm a klutz. A class with a patient teacher who doesn't mind repetition helps a lot.

What titles do you alaready have that you like? Maybe people can suggest books with similar styles.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 28 Nov 2005 , 10:06pm
post #4 of 10