*cries* Need Some Support W/ Royal Icing...

Decorating By ilithiya Updated 18 Mar 2005 , 5:49pm by Tea

ilithiya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ilithiya Posted 18 Mar 2005 , 4:44pm
post #1 of 7

Made a post, and lost it... icon_cry.gif

Essentially the skinny is this: I need to get the royal icing decorations for my wedding cake done over this next week. I've never worked with royal icing before, and I find the idea as intimidating as hell. Please help? icon_redface.gif

How long do I have to work with it before it dries?
Can I save the leftovers, since some of the work requires me to do this in stages?
Is there an easy way to clean my tips afterwards if the stuff dries on?
Can I add glycerin to help with the petal edges, and will that hurt how the royal dries?

Thank you... all of you are great. icon_smile.gif

Illy

6 replies
cakeconfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakeconfections Posted 18 Mar 2005 , 4:56pm
post #2 of 7

I am not sure about the glycerine. The one thing to remember is to make sure that all the surfaces and tips that you are working with are very clean and grease free. Grease will cause your frosting to break down. It normally takes about 24 hours for something to dry. You shouldnt be scared of it, its not that much different then working with other frosing.

You can save the unused protions for later. Just make sure that it is sealed and not put in the fridge. Clean your tips the same as you would with buttercream. The icing doesnt dry that fast, but will start to set when you put on the surface you are working with. When you have icing in a bowl that you are not using and make sure a damp towel is put over the bowl to preven it from drying out.

MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 18 Mar 2005 , 5:00pm
post #3 of 7