Butter Versus Shortening, Pros And Cons

Decorating By goodcakefairy Updated 7 Dec 2005 , 4:48pm by Nitu

goodcakefairy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
goodcakefairy Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 10:21pm
post #1 of 57

Ok, I'm still fairly new to this. I use the Wilton recipe buttercream featuring good old fashioned Crisco. Is this wrong?

I see a lot of you talking about recipes that half butter, half shortening or all butter. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Plus, is Crisco OK to use or is there a better shortening fo decorating. I've never had complaints, but I'd like to offer the best taste possible without compromising the decorations or "store-ability" of the cake.

Just wondering. Discuss amongst yourselves.
Thanks.

56 replies
SugarCreations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarCreations Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 10:29pm
post #2 of 57

To me it is taste. I use the crusting buttercream with the crisco and do not particularly care for the taste. But I used it on a cake I made for some people at work and they loved it. I guess its all in the buds. If I could find a buttercream using nothing but butter I would use it. One key thing here is to remember that TASTE is the thing that people will remember long after the cake has disappeared. I mean pictures will remind them of how it looked, but not how it tasted. Sorry for the long rant.

katerpillrgrl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katerpillrgrl Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 10:31pm
post #3 of 57

I don't think all-Crisco recipes taste as good as the butter recipes, but you know, I usually pick and choose depending on the decorations for the cake.

I use butter/crisco for icing and writing since the consistency I get works well and it tastes better. I use all-crisco for decorations that need to be stiffer.

I've heard a really good b/c recipe is swiss meringue. I can't wait to try that one but I don't have a hand held blender! icon_sad.gif

SugarCreations Posted 1 Nov 2005 , 11:22pm
post #4 of 57