Beginner Here Looking For Hints To Make A Character Cake

Decorating By mickeymouse85 Updated 18 Mar 2005 , 1:53pm by diane

mickeymouse85 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mickeymouse85 Posted 16 Mar 2005 , 4:08pm
post #1 of 11

Hello all. I just found this site and it looks fantastic. I am in the process of learning cake decorating. I am currently taking Course II in Wilton. Anyway, someone talked me into making them a Bob the Builder cake for an upcoming birthday party. It looks pretty overwhelming to me. lol Does anyone have any wonderful hints, tips, etc., that may make this a little easier for me? It really doesn't look hard....just very time consuming. I don't know what I got myself into icon_redface.gif Thanks in advance!!!

10 replies
MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 16 Mar 2005 , 4:16pm
post #2 of 11

Hello and welcome to the board! The only advice I would say it to read all the instructions over first. Get every little thing you can ready before you start to decorate...all your tips, colors, bags etc. Take your time..if you make a mistake, you can always take the icing off and try it again! You'll do just fine! And remember....enjoy it...that's what it's all about! thumbs_up.gif

m0use Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
m0use Posted 16 Mar 2005 , 4:20pm
post #3 of 11

If you have to do alot of stars, I recommend buying the wilton triple star. It makes three stars at once.
http://www.wilton.com/store/site/product.cfm?id=3E30DE2F-475A-BAC0-58342337945664F3

mickeymouse85 Posted 16 Mar 2005 , 4:23pm
post #4 of 11

Hi Missey. Thanks for the words of encouragement and for the advice!! I'm sure it will go fine once I get started...just a little overwhelming right now. I have to make this over Easter weekend, so I'll let everyone know how my first stab at it goes!! Thanks again!!!

mickeymouse85 Posted 16 Mar 2005 , 4:26pm
post #5 of 11