Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Cake Decorating › Please help... homemade fondant issue with the Gelatin!
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Please help... homemade fondant issue with the Gelatin!

post #1 of 14
Thread Starter 

Hi Everyone!
I have been making home made fondant for a while using beef gelatin, but have not been able to find it anymore and had to switch to fish gelatin ( The reason for this is I need a halal gelatin.)
I have found the fondant is totally misbehaving! I have been trying to adjust the measurement of the gelatin (it's 250 Bloom) and it is still not working. The fondant is almost fluffy, and falls apart, crumbling when I try to put it on the cake. It is behaving the same way that the fondant I made with agar agar did... terrible!!

Does anyone have suggestions on how to correct this issue? Should I use far less gelatin? Add glucose? 
At one point I was using the fondant as is - white - and it was fine. Went on the cake easily. But then when I added Americolor gel it just broke down completely.

 

Thanks in advance everyone!

post #2 of 14

Hello fellow newbie!

 

I only eat halal and so am VERY familiar with the food situation :)

 

Why dont you try buying halal marshmallows (found at many halal grocery stores)? This is what I do when making fondant. It would give a nice taste and be halal.

 

Do you live in a big city? I have tried looking at my own halal grocery stores here in Houston for actual halal gelatin but I have not found any. I really want to try to find some though for making the lacquer glaze on cakes!

 

Another idea is to order halal gelatin online. There is this website that might be helpful

http://www.halalgelatine.com/buyonline.html

 

Also, are you in an area with kosher stores? If you find certified kosher gelatin, this may or may not be acceptable depending on your client. Some Muslims are fine with it whereas others are not, often due to not being able to verify its authenticity (many companies have scammed both faiths in the past with false certifications).

 

Good luck and let me know if you find anything!

post #3 of 14

There are recipes for fondant that just use marshmallow fluff, as well. It is Kosher.

Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
post #4 of 14

Hmmm..might want to double check on the fluff product itself..last time I checked, it was not halal and I would not consume it myself as someone who eats halal. But again, this depends on the individual.

post #5 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HajraK View Post

Hmmm..might want to double check on the fluff product itself..last time I checked, it was not halal and I would not consume it myself as someone who eats halal. But again, this depends on the individual.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HajraK View Post

Hello fellow newbie!

I only eat halal and so am VERY familiar with the food situation icon_smile.gif

Why dont you try buying halal marshmallows (found at many halal grocery stores)? This is what I do when making fondant. It would give a nice taste and be halal.

Do you live in a big city? I have tried looking at my own halal grocery stores here in Houston for actual halal gelatin but I have not found any. I really want to try to find some though for making the lacquer glaze on cakes!

Another idea is to order halal gelatin online. There is this website that might be helpful
http://www.halalgelatine.com/buyonline.html

Also, are you in an area with kosher stores? If you find certified kosher gelatin, this may or may not be acceptable depending on your client. ]Some Muslims are fine with it whereas others are not, often due to not being able to verify its authenticity (many companies have scammed both faiths in the past with false certifications).

Good luck and let me know if you find anything!

On this marshmallow fluff page it says its Kosher http://www.marshmallowfluff.com/pages/faq.html
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
post #6 of 14

Last time I checked, there was a big ol' hechsher on the Marshmallow Fluff label.

 

Agar agar and gelatin substitute made from fish don't have the same properties as gelatin, so why would they behave the same? That's like assuming you can substitute yeast for baking soda with the same results. 

 

Why not purchase a fondant that is kosher? Satin Ice comes to mind - personally I don't like it 'cause I think it stinks, but it is kosher and I know lots of folks swear by it! 

post #7 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Annabakescakes View Post

There are recipes for fondant that just use marshmallow fluff, as well. It is Kosher.

Halal marshmallows might be an option, or you can just buy it, not sure where you live, but I just by mine from tesco suitable for vegetarians, so halal. Works really well in covering and saves me the hassle of making it myself. Also used satin ice before, again very easy to use and tastes great.
post #8 of 14
A lot of the times it's hard to find halal speciality items, but a lot easier to find kosher, so I always search for kosher too.
post #9 of 14

Oh the one sold in the grocery store nearest me is of a different brand..so maybe its a brand thing?

 

Also, just to be on the safe side, make sure the people/person the cake is being made for are alright with kosher gelatin. Some Muslims are and some are not (I say this with experience of the differing views in my own family!).

post #10 of 14

Hi everyone, after having a life changing experience about 3 months ago, I have stopped eating pork and pork products.  I had no idea how many products have pork in them.

 

I have a friend who lives in the US that was craving a dessert from home called mutabbak, thank goodness we have a store here that sells Hala and kosher products from his country.

 

I found this site for clean and unclean foods, it has a pretty extensive list of grocery store products.

 

http://www.theisraelofgodrc.com/CUPL.html

 

HTH

"You don't have to be great to get started but you have to get started to be great"

 

By a very smart 6 yr old

Reply

"You don't have to be great to get started but you have to get started to be great"

 

By a very smart 6 yr old

Reply
post #11 of 14

Sorry, I tried to add the page with the baked goods and products, here it is:

 

http://www.theisraelofgodrc.com/CUPL.html#Candy

"You don't have to be great to get started but you have to get started to be great"

 

By a very smart 6 yr old

Reply

"You don't have to be great to get started but you have to get started to be great"

 

By a very smart 6 yr old

Reply
post #12 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HajraK View Post

Oh the one sold in the grocery store nearest me is of a different brand..so maybe its a brand thing?

Also, just to be on the safe side, make sure the people/person the cake is being made for are alright with kosher gelatin. Some Muslims are and some are not (I say this with experience of the differing views in my own family!).

It might be a brand thing, where do you buy your fondant from? I am hobby baker so don't need to deal with costumers (thank god lol). I just use vegetarian products on my cakes, just mentioned kosher as an option.
post #13 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by enga View Post

Sorry, I tried to add the page with the baked goods and products, here it is:

http://www.theisraelofgodrc.com/CUPL.html#Candy
Thank you for the link, I have always just read ingredients lists when I buy something, that way you can't go wrong in what your eating icon_smile.gif
post #14 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by meriem View Post

It might be a brand thing, where do you buy your fondant from? I am hobby baker so don't need to deal with costumers (thank god lol). I just use vegetarian products on my cakes, just mentioned kosher as an option.

Costumers must be pretty hard to deal with, with all the fittings and such, I am glad I just have the customers icon_wink.gif
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
Beginners, be sure to parrot advice and get your post count up as fast as you can. After all, it's not what you know, it's what people THINK you know.
Reply
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Cake Decorating
Cake Central › Cake Forums › Cake Talk › Cake Decorating › Please help... homemade fondant issue with the Gelatin!