Originally Posted by WAdora66
My cake supply store sells a product called Bettercream that is dairy free. I don't really care for the taste, so you might want to ask for a sample.
Chefperl is correct. The Bettercream also contains milk and milk ingredients.
Why just the icing? If a person has an allergy it doesn't matter if it's cooked or not milk ingredients will bother them in cake too. Is this for a sensitivity or vegan choice? You also should double check if eggs are included in their idea of dairy free just so you are clear on what they want. Don't mess around with -oh a little won't hurt cause it can make people sick.
***And FYI for anyone reading... The entire Dairy free labeling from the FDA is a joke.
*** It's a lie- IT"S ALWAYS FALSE!!!! <----that's just for attention getting-I'm not yelling.
Those things are always made from milk ingredients like whey or milk proteins like lactose or lactylose or milk salts like sodium casienate.
Earth balance and hi-rat shorning works well to make a sugarshack syle butter cream. You can also use Rich's RichWhip (which is vegan and Parve Certified) it's a mock whip cream and it helps make things fluffy and less sweet. if I make an American BC I always add that in instead of the coffee creamer.
The coffee creamers that say none-dairy do in fact have milk ingredients in them also -so beware. Use a soy creamer or other vegan creamer.