Would Someone Please Help Me???

Decorating By Niquie Updated 19 Dec 2008 , 12:23am by -K8memphis

Niquie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Niquie Posted 16 Dec 2008 , 6:02pm
post #1 of 45

Hi all you wonderful cc'ers!!!
My name is Ashley and I just love being a part of this site. You guys are so awesome. Anyway, down to business. I am pretty new to the decorating thing, and I have absolutely no training other than what I learned from my "late" mother as she used to decorate. I always let people know that I do this to keep me close to her, because I feel that we bonded when we did this together. I wish I was as good at this as she was. Ok, my question is, for those of you who use buttercream, do you have any suggesstions on how I can make a smooth buttercream without using a KitchenAid brand mixer.

I am a stay-at-home-mom with a three year old, and I am currently 8 months pregnant with my next child, so purchasing a KitchenAid is no where in the cards for the near future. Any tips or advice on this would be greatly appreciated and definitely tried. I love cake decorating, eventhough my work is quite horrible. It takes my mind off of all the everyday junk that most of us have to deal with. I would really love to turn this into a business someday, but I would much rather learn the ups and downs of icings and things before I try too much. I have done cakes my son's b-days and for friends (a few are posted in the gallery), and they seem to go over well, but me being my own worse critic, hated them all!!! Anyway, like I said, any help on the buttercream issue would be greatly appreciated. Don't forget, I don't have a KitchenAid brand mixer, so that's the problem, I guess!!! Thanks for reading and sorry it was so long!!!