Posts by shrimpsey

So I am making my first ever wedding cake for my friend(EEEEKKK!!) It will be 3 square tiers and I will have merrange flowers cascading up the side and on the top. I want to make the flowers ahead and freeze them? Are they ok to freeze? Second, her colors are silver and navy and I am debating about doing a combo of silver and navy flowers, was going to just dust silver LD for the silver and try and put the navy color in the mixture when I make those flowers, not sure...
Thanks everyone! I will post pics when it is done. I decided to go with graham crumbs mixed with a little fine cane sugar. It will be done tomorrow. I am excited to do this one, its going to be fun!
Hi there, novice question here. My daughter has requested a Dora at the beach cake for her birthday which I am going to make, but I want to use piping gel with the water. I have never used it before, SO, do I just colour the piping gel blue, or do I use blue buttercream and then brush the piping gel over top?? ThanksAlso, for the beach part, what would you reccomend as the best choice for beach, I know there are a lot of different methods of doing it.Thanks so much...
Thanks Everyone!KoryAK ~ Great job, your cakes look awesome!
I have a friend who wants to make a open laptop cake but can't figure out how to put this together so the cake won't break or fall?? Any ideas?Thanks!!
Thanks everyone, the royal icing worked great. Thanks so much!!
Ok, thanks everyone. Can someone give me a great royal icing recipe to use? Also, I don't have any vodka around, could I use a almond or clear vanilla extract for painting. Thanks so much, I never even thought about the royal icing!! I am a newb!! HA!Ok, and it is a buttercream with fondant