Posts by SandyES00

So a friend of my father's wants a cake carved into the shape of Camden Yards (Oriole Park) for her son's birthday cake.  They want it to feed at least a hundred people, but hopefully a bit more.  I was wondering what people would charge for a cake like that.  I live in a metropolitan area where prices are relatively high.  I am an at home baker, and generally charge $3.50 per serving for a buttercream cake as a base and $4.50 for a fondant cake.  Obviously extra depending...
So I operate under the VA cottage food law.  I either deliver to my customers or they pick up the cakes.  But since I live in the DC area, I get order requests from DC and MD as well.  I figure, if they client picks up the cake, whether or not there is a cottage food law in DC or MD doesn't matter, but what if the client wants the cake delivered.  Anyone else encountered this issue?  
I am by no means an expert, but I do sell my cakes.  First, I would say that the daffodil cake is very pretty.  The only issue is that the fondant over it is a little bumpy from the frosting underneath, but that's not to say it is bad.  I have seen plenty of people sell cakes like yours and laypeople be very impressed.  And no, putting m & m's on a cake isn't the highest difficulty technique, but if it's what the customer wanted and enjoys, then what does it matter, right?
Where do I look for samples?
I don't have a huge problem making fondant.  I just had to buy some chocolate fondant for a last minute cake and it was so easy to work with, I was amazed.  My marshmallow fondant is fine, but seems to tear a lot easier than the store bought.