Posts by smbegg

Looking for those of you operating under the Texas Cottage Food Law, what type of liability insurance do you carry? do you have home owner-small business policy or do you have separate policies? How much do you pay for liability? also, are you an LLC? Are there any fees associated with LLC yearly other than the $300 filing fee?
cjmeadow In DFW, there is Merchant's Bakery. You have to have a sales tax ID, to order. I have been purchasing from them for the last three years. They have great prices. They are in Farmers Branch. I buy all my boxes, boards, fondant, tools, pans and food coloring from them. The Ps99 is 50# for $79. It lasted me 2 years, (but I am only now starting to get regular orders) 
I am not comfortable serving it. It is like all the glasslike accumulated chunks fell off the machine when processing. It really was just a waste! Do y'all sift your powdered sugar)
I just made my usual batch of buttercream which starts with 8+ pounds of raw materials and apparently one of the bags of powdered sugar contained chunks of crystallized sugar! The whole batch is ruined. I have been doing this for years and never have had that happen before. I don't ever sift, but this is making me double think that! I am so pissed off! What a waste of time and $$ down the drain.
My daughter wants the Debbie Brown Enchanted Castle cake for her birthday. I have been all over town trying to find the book, but no one has it in stock. I am ordering it online (because I want it) but it will not be here in time for her birthday party. Does anyone have the instructions that they could send me?I would really appreciate the help.ThanksStephanie