Chocolate Buttercream

Baking By cindy6250 Updated 25 Oct 2005 , 11:37pm by PinkPanther

cindy6250 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy6250 Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 9:34pm
post #1 of 8

I'm fairly new to cake decorating and have just begun getting a few cake orders. Here's my dilemma...I have an order for a 12 x 18 sheet cake,
yellow with chocolate icing. The cake is to be delivered to the caterer on Saturday, but the dinner is Sunday. Can anyone suggest a good recipe that will stand up, unrefrigerated overnight? I usually make mine with all
shortening, but have seen several really good looking recipes with butter. Just not sure if that will keep out of the frig....

7 replies
cindy6250 Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 9:48pm
post #2 of 8

Please can anyone suggest if chocolate buttercream made with butter absolutely has to be kept in frig. The recipe I am thinking of using is 2 3/4 cups shortening, and 3/4 cup butter....Thanks

prettytoya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prettytoya Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 9:49pm
post #3 of 8

Cindy-most all recipes, with the exception of whipped cream and those with fresh fruit, can be kept out overnight.

cindy6250 Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 9:55pm
post #4 of 8

Thank you for your help. I'm still learning about all this and don't want to make anyone sick...

christiethomas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
christiethomas Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 9:55pm
post #5 of 8

I made a chocolate buttercream with 1 stick of butter and 1 1/2 cups of shortening and kept it held up just fine with no refrigeration.

PinkPanther Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkPanther Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 9:56pm
post #6 of 8

Yes, it will be fine left out overnight. Somehow the sugar acts as a preservative. Here is the link to Wilton's chocolate buttercream. icon_smile.gif

http://www.wilton.com/recipes/recipesandprojects/icing/chocobutter.cfm

cindy6250 Posted 25 Oct 2005 , 10:00pm
post #7 of 8