LetS Start! Make Cake!

Business By klamshops Updated 27 Oct 2005 , 2:48am by candyladyhelen

klamshops Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klamshops Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 1:55pm
post #1 of 8

I am in the computer graphic arts and am rethinking things over with how I want to make my living. After watching the cupcake and spooky cake challenge on food network, I just got inspired. I like making things, I like design, and I like to bring a little delight into peoples life even just for a little bit. I want to be able to sculpt out fantasies and make art. Id like to change careers.

My questions are what I need to do and what I need to learn to start heading towards making a living even my own small business out of edible art (pastries).

7 replies
jekizer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jekizer Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 8

I am by no means an expert, however, if I were you I would look into classes that are offered in your area. You can take Wilton Classes at almost any Michaels or Hobby Lobby store. If you have any questions let us know. Everyone on this site is willing to share and help you in anyway that we can.

BTW.... welcome to CC. It is truly our addiction.

HeatherMari Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HeatherMari Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 2:22pm
post #3 of 8

I too am no expert but I'll just tell you what I am planning. Funny enough I am a graphic designer/sign maker by trade too but am really wanting to move into cakes. It won't be for awhile but it will happen. I started last year by taking the Wilton classes at my local Michaels store because my friend had always wanted to take them. I had never even thought of it before but it sounded fun. I ended up taking all 3 courses and being pretty good according to my instructor. I loved it! By then I was hooked. I started looking online for cakes and just finding all of these amazing sites of professionals that make unbelievable cakes. I had never even thought half of that stuff was possible.