How Much To Charge???

Decorating By jstump Updated 1 Feb 2007 , 12:05am by jstump

jstump Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jstump Posted 31 Jan 2007 , 12:10am
post #1 of 13

I need some help!!! I'm new at this and I made this cake to practice doing FBCT's. Well I gave it to a guy I work with for his child & now people are asking if I can make them one too!!! I'm excited but I'm not sure what to charge??? Or if I should even charge at all. Like I said I'm new, this is only the third cake I've done and I've just done the others for family members so I did not charge them anything. Everyone on here is so helpful so I figured I could get some really good advice here!
LL
LL

12 replies
IHATEFONDANT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IHATEFONDANT Posted 31 Jan 2007 , 12:12am
post #2 of 13

Figure out your expenses. Mulitply that by 3.

Then figure out how much time it takes to do a cake. What is your time worth?

alicegop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alicegop Posted 31 Jan 2007 , 12:15am
post #3 of 13

No less than $45

I'm probably too low. Good job!

jstump Posted 31 Jan 2007 , 1:04am
post #4 of 13

Thanks for the help! This site is the best thumbs_up.gif Everyone is so helpful! icon_smile.gif

billiesbakerydelight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
billiesbakerydelight Posted 31 Jan 2007 , 10:28am
post #5 of 13

take your cost,X's 2, then your labor cost, normally 10$ a hr. I would charge no less than 50 for this, simply cause of your supplies and time, take into consideration that you used your icing colors, and your tips, 'disposable' bags, water cost to wash tools in, eletricity, etc... those other bakers charge for all of that too. you deserve it. If they think thats too hi, just say that it cost $30 to do by supplies, then if they want to give you a donation for your time, then thats fine, but no lower than $30, cause you have to pay your own bills!

SILVERCAT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SILVERCAT Posted 31 Jan 2007 , 11:56am
post #6 of 13