Help Help Help!

Decorating By osci03 Updated 6 Oct 2005 , 1:20am by sdfgarcia

osci03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
osci03 Posted 5 Oct 2005 , 8:41pm
post #1 of 9

I've 2 of the 4 sheet cakes made for my daughters wedding Saturday but both of them stuck to the pan and I'm going to have to do major repairs. I'm using the wilton 12x18 pan and greasing with crisco and flouring then. Should I add some parchment paper somewhere or use more crisco/flour? If I use the parchment do I grease/flour it too? Thanks so much. I'll survive the wedding but I don't know about these cakes.

8 replies
kraftychristy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kraftychristy Posted 5 Oct 2005 , 8:46pm
post #2 of 9

Im kind of a newbie here, but I hope this helps. All the recipes I've ever read says to grease the pan, line the bottom with parchment paper and then grease and flour it. Me personally, I only use Bakers Joy, and I havent had one stick yet. I spray it liberally on the pan especially if it's a character or novelty pan with a lot of crevices. I hope this helps and good luck!! icon_smile.gif

Christy

debsuewoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debsuewoo Posted 5 Oct 2005 , 8:47pm
post #3 of 9

line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper and spray the sides of the pan with cooking spray. The cake, when cooled, will come out easier and you can just peel that paper off the bottom of the cake.

Debbi

missnnaction Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missnnaction Posted 5 Oct 2005 , 8:47pm
post #4 of 9

I always use the wilton quick release..and I never have any problems...but, if you decide to use parchment, you still need to grease the pan....

Nitu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nitu Posted 5 Oct 2005 , 8:54pm
post #5 of 9

Congratulations and all the best for your daughters wedding.

I always use Crisco spray first and then flouring the pan.
But recently I used parchment paper and then spray Crisco.
It worked very well.
That was lot easier for me.