2 Tier Fondant Cake Timeline

Baking By SarahGill Updated 28 Jul 2017 , 9:59pm by theresaf

SarahGill Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SarahGill Posted 28 Jul 2017 , 1:56am
post #1 of 9

Hi guys 

So I'm new to this and previously I've baked cakes for family but nothing major. Next sat (5th aug) I'm making my daughter's first birthday cake. It's going to be 2 tiers and covered in fondant with a simple crown cake topper. 

What I need help on is my timeline. Currently I'm thinking:

Wednesday: bake the cake on and wrap and chill in the freezer (and make the fondant crown)

Thursday: level and ice the cake with buttercream and chill overnight in the fridge  

Friday evening: cover the cakes in fondant and leave in the fridge overnight

Saturday early morning: assemble the cake and finish decoration (placing a name plaque on the cake and the crown). 

the only other things are that, I have two young kids and can only work at night, plus Saturday, my kitchen will be used for cooking other food too so how should I store my cake? 

please help! I really want it to be a success! 

thanks guys x

8 replies
me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 28 Jul 2017 , 7:02am
post #2 of 9

Your timeline sounds good to me. You're leaving yourself a nice amount of time for each task.

Once you've got your cake covered in fondant and assembled you can store it anywhere that is safe from little hands and in a nice cool air conditioned spot.

If I didn't have a dedicated cake fridge, I would probably cover in fondant and assemble on Fri evening and pop the whole thing in a big box in the a/c. 

Good luck with it! Looking forward to seeing pics!

SarahGill Posted 28 Jul 2017 , 11:08am
post #3 of 9

Aww thanks so much for replying  

I don't have air conditioning and the house will get pretty warm on Saturday as we'll be cooking other food. The fondant has buttercream underneath so I'm worried about that melting as well.