Largest Batch Of Buttercream You Make At Once?

Decorating By tua17752 Updated 6 Aug 2017 , 7:54pm by kakeladi

tua17752 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tua17752 Posted 24 Jul 2017 , 11:55pm
post #1 of 11

Hey everyone!! I'm a newbie here at cake central and I'm wondering if anyone has a recipe for a very large batch of American buttercream?  OR I'm curious to know what you at home bakers do if you need a ton of icing that week--do you just make a bunch of batches and combine them?  Does anyone here buy store bought and doctor it up?  I usually make my own, but my mixer is 5 or 6 quart and it would take quite a few batches to make the mount I need, especially since the recipe I use typically only makes about a cup and a half or so.  Thanks!!!

10 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 25 Jul 2017 , 1:25am
post #2 of 11

Welcome to a great helping sharing community of cake bakers/decorators.     Since you only have a 5 or 6 qt mixer you are going to have to make multipul batches.  If the recipe you using only makes 1 & 1/2 cups you probably can triple it.  HOw much sugar does you recipe use?  That size mixer can handle  a batch using 2# of sugar w/o a problem.    You can put each into a bucket and stir them together to be sure they all match in flavor and consistency.  Yeah, we all make a mistake now & then and things turn out different:)   I made it in a 20 qt so that was about 4 or 5 times the recipe I used.   This is a terrific recipe that you could use:  http://www.cakecentral.com/recipe/22469/2-icing   one batch at a time in a 6 qt mixer. 

tua17752 Posted 25 Jul 2017 , 2:08am
post #3 of 11

Awesome!!  I'm going to try it. :). Thank you!!

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 25 Jul 2017 , 3:03am
post #4 of 11

I use the exact recipe provided by kakeladi, but doubled.  It fits perfectly in my five quart KA.

Coffeelover77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile