Help Needed

Decorating By ccotta Updated 26 Jul 2017 , 12:50am by ccotta

ccotta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccotta Posted 23 Jul 2017 , 5:16pm
post #1 of 8

Hi all, I'm new here but have been reading the forums and tutorials for a few weeks. I'm a home baker, doing cakes for family and friends and I need some advice! I'm want to do this cake Sprinkle Cake Tutorial - A step by step guide to applying sprinkles to a fondant covered cake ~ Sweetness and Bite for my step-daughters 16th birthday, next saturday.  11 inches on the bottom, 9 on the top. How many cakes should I make for each layer? I was thinking 3. Can I decorate it the night before? Should I refridgerate it after its decorated? do I need supports in the cake? I have never done a tiered cake before so I'm really not all that sure about what I am doing. Any help will be greatly appreciated!!

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 23 Jul 2017 , 6:04pm
post #2 of 8

what kind of cake and filling?

does the lowest edge of your cakes bake up to two inches tall? or how tall will they be after leveling?

yes you need supports in the bottom tier-- do you know what kind you are going to use?

are you delivering it, transporting it in the car?

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 23 Jul 2017 , 7:58pm
post #3 of 8

Yes, you definitely need to use supports (dowels or straws) and a cake board between the tiers.  Whether or not to refrigerate depends upon the ingredients, but I refrigerate all of my cakes.  Here is a stacking tutorial.

http://www.wilton.com/stacked-tiered-cake-construction/WLTECH-423.html

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 23 Jul 2017 , 9:14pm
post #4 of 8

@ccotta I'm a home baker,...want to do this cake...11 inches on the bottom, 9 on the top. How many cakes should I make...